Wednesday, February 19, 2014

A glimpse into the life of . . .

                  INGE CLANCY
I work with Inge at the gym, and no matter how grumpy or irritated people are when they come in, they always manage to crack a smile when they see her (myself included).
Always happy to see and welcome you, help you, ask how you are, she's as genuine and sweet as they come, so I wanted you all to have the chance to get to know the one and only Inge Clancy.

Inge grew up in Sioux City, Iowa, which is also where she met her husband of 34 years, Greg. Two (now adult) kids and a move to Minneapolis later, they're still just as in love, if not more, as they were from day one. Whether they're coming in for a workout or leaving as he picks her up from work, it's quite a treat to see them together. 

She's also a great inspiration for staying fit no matter your age. Inge competed in her first figure competition at the age of 47! 
"I loved the opportunity," she said. "I learned discipline and the knowledge of what different types of exercise can do for you." But the best lesson learned, she says, was just the fact that she could do it.

Aside from our conversations about food, clothes (she is quite the fashionista) or her new apartment complete with an awesome outdoor pool I'll be hanging out at all summer, we've been able to connect over some shared job hunt frustrations, which I, of course, always appreciate.

Here are a few more fun facts:

Current job: Besides working at the gym with the best co-worker ever (me!), Inge does a little dog-walking on the side.

What positions have you previously held? Nursing unit clerk, nursing assistant and various assistant jobs within schools while raising the kids

Dream job: Event planning or organizing

What is your biggest career challenge right now: Finding the right resources for trying to find a job that is close by.

Advice for anyone going through the same challenges: Keep looking! Talk to everyone - churches, libraries, everyone around you.

What advice would you give your 25-year-old self? To concentrate more on career options for the future.

Three words to describe where you're at in life right now: Happy, relaxed, confident

One of her favorite spots to bike!

Hobbies:  Bicycling, exercising and exploring

Advice for staying healthy as you age: Stay active, eat healthy and take time for yourself.

What is the secret to your cheerful disposition? Keeping happy is seeing others laughing and happy.

 What is number one on your bucket list? I don't have one. Do things now. Just do it!


Favorite ice cream: Dairy Queen vanilla

Thank you, Inge!

No comments:

Post a Comment